Bob Cheevers


On Earth As It Is In Austin

Where to Buy

DBM StoreiTunesAmazonCD BabyEMusicMy Texas Music

Track Listing

  1. The Sound of a Door
  2. One More Nail
  3. My Guitar, The Man in the Moon, and My Heart
  4. My First Rodeo
  5. Made in Mississippi
  6. You Sound Just Like Willie
  7. Snake Oil Man
  8. On Earth as it is In Austin
  9. Falling Hard On Easy Street
  10. Creaky Old Bones
  11. Hey Hey Billy
  12. West Textas Showdown
  13. Blue Eyes Always On My Mind
  14. I Don’t Need a Thing
  15. Paradise Lost

Bob Cheevers writes with the acute vision of a master painter, the precision attention to detail of a great novelist, and the heart and soul of a southern country-blues gentleman. His newest collection, On Earth As It Is In Austin, features 15 story songs of fact, fiction and unfettered imagination, performed as musical duets with 15 celebrated musicians, including Austin stalwarts Stephen Doster, Warren Hood, Will Sexton, Dustin Welch, Walt Wilkins, Van Wilks, and longtime Memphis musical collaborator Charlie White, among many others.

Having written well over 3,000 songs in his five-plus decades career, Bob Cheevers has rightfully earned the mantle of master songwriter, as well as the respect and affection of his many songwriter pals. As legendary Texas songwriter Ray Wiley Hubbard opines, “Bob Cheevers is one cool scarecrow gypsy poet who writes and sings the romantic beautiful truth. When he releases a record, I listen.”

With his latest offering, On Earth As It Is In Austin, Cheevers delivers a generous helping of his trademark tales full of rebels and outlaws, dreamers and lovers, relics of an America long gone and forgotten by most, and outcasts of an America daily disappearing before our eyes. The characters populating his songs have lived, loved and lost; they know the meaning of down and out; yet still persevere through life’s heartbreaks, vagaries and travails with indomitable spirits committed to living as fully as they can for as long as they can.

On Earth As It Is In Austin, Cheevers’ 10th full-length release, is a tour de force masterwork. An experience in song full of adventure and misadventure, comedy and tragedy, history and fantasy, On Earth As It Is In Austin is intimate and expansive, poignant and bracing, tender and raucous, unflinchingly honest and redemptively healing. And, if you listen closely, it will rock your soul.